Of Social Media and Private Matters

A few weeks ago I was diagnosed with invasive ductal carcinoma in my right breast. Because I write frequently on social media, and have several people who follow my writings, I was puzzled as to whether I should write about the intimate details that invariably will arise during my cancer treatment. My conclusion is written below.

My main blog site theme allows multiple pages. A week or so ago I started a new page called My Cancer Detour. I have found, though, it to be a bit complicated to post and receive comments as I wish to, using this method. Thus my decision to establish this new blog site for my writings in this regard. I will be moving over all the material from said pages.

January 11, 2016

Divergent thoughts concerning sharing rather private matters on pubic forums have conflicted me, so that it has taken some time for my decision to create this page on my blog, and within it to be frank about this unexpected detour in my life. Posts here will not be routinely linked to my Facebook, or Instagram sites, my thinking being that for a person to read here, one must deliberately seek out the site, whereas on Facebook and Instagram, anything I post can be seen by any of my “friends” there. And I’m just not sure I want to do that.

I considered saying nothing publicly about this turn of events in my life, but felt in a way I would be dishonest with so many of you who are intertwined in my life; casual friends, dear people who have attended the three churches my husband has pastored, those who have read my books, you who have listened to my speaking in conferences and other venues, and you whom I have never met, but who have followed me on my other social media sites.

So here goes. I thank you for following me, and will appreciate deeply if you take the time to occasionally leave a comment. The greatest thing you can do is to pray. All of us need God, and for us to pray for the other is the most powerful and beautiful gift we can offer.

2 thoughts on “Of Social Media and Private Matters

  1. Dear friend,
    I have seen a few comments on Facebook and knew something was wrong. I just want you to know that you are special to me even though we’ve never really talked or even been around each other. I think I’ve have know you most of my life and your stories impact me. I will pray for you.
    Rebecca (Abbott) Compton

    Like

    1. Dear Rebecca, Thank you for taking the time to read and comment here. I know it takes a bit more time and energy than to post on fb. I hope you will continue to follow my blog, and especially that you will occasionally (or often) leave a comment.

      Help me here; what are the names of your parents?

      I appreciate your compliments, and your pledge to pray for me.

      My love and blessings.

      Like

Leave a Reply

