Insidious Cancer

Early last fall Winston, my charming Shih Tzu, and I walked frequently along the shores of Lake Gregory which sets in all its beauty less than a mile from our home here in Crestline. I’m a rather serious amateur photographer, and during those walks I snapped dozens of photographs with my trusty Nikon. I’m posting a couple of them.

I’ve thought back to those glorious warm days, and considered that as Winston and I trotted and strolled and chose a bench here and there, inside my body a deadly organism was working against me. It stuns me to reckon with the understanding that without symptom or notice of any kind, an enemy had attacked my body. Indeed, if I understand the process correctly, this cancer had developed using material from my own body. Strange. Frustrating. A bit frightening.

untitled

With the photo processing system called Lightroom, merely using the tap of a key, I changed those brightly colored leaves to somber, subdued ones.

untitled copy

With the perusing of a couple of documents, the viewing of images on a screen, and a few words from doctors, I knew my life had drastically changed, had taken an unexpected ugly turn, a detour. I walk now through a dark place.

Others have so walked. Yet today many of them have regained their place in the sun, their healthy bodies, their optimistic viewpoints. In one of his most well-known writings, David of the Bible, said,

“Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for Thou art with me.”

My dark place, though filled with shadows, and with hint of death, contains images of light and hope, for to the hand of Jesus I cling.

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Insidious Cancer

  1. Just as I was moving the blog over, an anonymous person left this comment. I’ve taken the liberty of posting it here on the new blog.

    “God knows the way through the wilderness, all you have to do is follow. This was an old SundY School song when I was quite young. It has comforted me many times these last last 60 years walking with God. Surely Goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever. “Whose report will you believe, I shall believe the report of the Lord”.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Quite simply, one of the bravest women I know. I look forward to many more posts. Your writings lift my spirits and encourage me to always look forward to brighter days ahead. Love you so much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

