The Day of My Ninth Radiation Treatment

It’s been a good day. Good to think that I’m a third of the way through these treatments. The irradiated parts of my skin are in great condition, and I still feel very well. As one of the nurses bent over me today adjusting my body on the table, I told her how terrible I felt with chemo, and how great I’m feeling now. She smiled, and with a touch of warning in her voice said, “The radiation effects can sneak up on you.” I told her I was aware of it, and that I have myself mentally prepared–just in case.

Early this afternoon here at our home, one of our Crestline friends (whom you may have met here) called and asked if I was up for a short visit.

Of course I was, and Jerry snapped a picture as this delightful 86 year-old charmer and I sat together in our living room.

DSC_3524

She came bearing a gift.

DSC_3535

The flower is a wild iris that she picked from along the road as she took her morning walk. (She walks a mile a day, sometimes two!) The bottle is recycled, she told me, and I could see it was. During these days of my cancer detour I’ve received lots of gifts, and extraordinarily beautiful floral arrangements. None surpass this beautiful, elegant, humble gift.

DSC_3534And so…….my day–the 9th of radiation–has been a very good one. Trust yours has been as well.

9 thoughts on “The Day of My Ninth Radiation Treatment

  1. I’m so happy you are doing well thru these treatments! You are such an inspiration. Your attitude and your outlook during this time is exceedingly great. You are amazing!
    Love You.

    Like

  2. So happy to hear that you are feeling well so far! Praying you go through the remainder of treatment with minimal discomfort! I love the pictures and the sweetness of your spirit that comes through your writing and photos. God bless you, Sis!

    Like

Leave a Reply

