Recovery Monday

On other days, recent days, we would have pointed our faithful Jeep down the hill toward Ontario for one more radiation treatment, perhaps a short stand-in-line at the pharmacy, or a visit with one of my doctors. Not today.

Today, I recover. This morning I sat for awhile on the cement steps leading to our front deck. I watched. I looked and listened. I have blisters under my right arm, a sore, decimated chest wall beneath which is a grateful heart, and today I have a head that reels. I’m a follower of the news, one who listens much, who is interested in the election that looms before us. I’m aghast at our world. How can we humans speak as we do? How is it that we slaughter each other at such a rate? How.can.this.be.so?

The steps, though. Where I sit. I watch as two lizards dart before me. My camera is beside me, lens cover removed, and as I lift it to my eyes, the couple spatted, I guess, and in a flash one is gone. This one, though. This brave critter stopped quite near me. He posed, and held. Steady, he displayed his long “fingers.”

DSC_3810

Behind him stands a frog. Well, a replica of a frog, who is of green metal, and who appears to be holding a clarinet or some such instrument. I laughed when I noted these two critters in this juxtaposition.

DSC_3809-2And it was better than police shootings, or blatant lying, or coarse, vulgar language. Or the utterly ridiculous question of whose lives matter.

DSC_3788Hummingbirds rushed by Jerry’s face today as he watered plants in the front.

DSC_3795Bokeh, they call it. Light, unfocussed light shines through the scarlet bird feeder.

DSC_3782The bigger birds have scratched about and their food is scattered on the railing, and this morning there was a dead bird in our driveway.

And God knows. He is in charge. Still. Capable. Not in trouble. I rest. I recover.

 

15 thoughts on “Recovery Monday

  1. Hi Shirley, I just read your recovery Monday and was touched and blessed. Thank you for being so genuine and sharing such precious insights, love and prayers, Rita Boxleitner

    Like

  2. Matthew 10:29 Are not two sparrows sold for a farthing? and one of them shall not fall on the ground without your Father. He cares about us! love you…beautiful insight.

    Like

    1. I love that reading. It is impossible for us humans to comprehend the “size” of God, His knowledge, understanding, and caring ways are surely beyond our thinking abilities. Thank you for the post, Jean.

      Like

  3. I, too, am a follower of the news and some days it is more than I can bear. So thankful for a God who is still on the throne. And so happy to see you on this side of your journey. Continue with your recovery.
    Much love and prayers!

    Like

  4. I’m so grateful you can recover in the arms of Jesus – there is NO safer place! I’m also grateful you can recover amongst such cute little critters. They are oblivious to the horrible things happening in this world. Perhaps they are put there to assist in your recovery?

    I love you, amazing woman!

    XOXOXO,
    hg

    Like

Leave a Reply

